Upcoming Workshop Times & Events

Workshop:  How to Write Realistic Settings

Setting is the all important backdrop for your characters. It’s the stage that will influence how plot and drama unfolds, and is a key element in bringing mood and meaning to your story. This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Magic-Book-Setting.jpg
This two-hour workshop explores the fundamentals of setting, how it impacts and anchors your characters and readers, and how to craft your own rich locations through different narrative techniques. A great workshop for early to emerging writers of any genre, aged 16 – 116 years.

Date:  Saturday, 23 March 2019
Time:  2:00pm – 4:00pm
Venue:  Room 26 Mt Martha Community House, 466 The Esplanade, Mount Martha
Cost:  $45   (Limited to ten participants – includes afternoon tea)

Workshop:  Creative Writing Prompts to Ignite Your Imagination and Productivity

This two hour workshop is high energy, creative fun for everyone, whether you are a complete novice, or have been writing for years. You’ll get the opportunity to flex your creative muscle in a number of different ways, drawing inspiration from prompts designed to tap into different senses and help you think outside the box. Creative writing prompts and exercises are a great tool for allowing yourself the freedom to write uninhibited by expectations … and you’ll be surprised where they take you!
If you’ve been looking for new story ideas, suffering the dreaded ‘writer’s block’, or wanting to fire your imagination by tapping into the right hand side of your brain where the creativity lives, this workshop is for you! (Ages 16 – 116 years).

Date:  Saturday, 30 March 2019
Time:  2:00pm – 4:00pm
Venue:  Room 26 Mt Martha Community House, 466 The Esplanade, Mount Martha
Cost:  $45   (Limited to ten participants – includes afternoon tea)


Children’s Easter School Holiday Creative Writing Workshops at Antipodes Bookshop & Gallery, Sorrento

‘Enchanted Lands’ Creative Writing Workshop
Fans of Enid Blyton’s ‘The Enchanted Wood’ and ‘The Magic Faraway Tree’ This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Magic-Faraway-Tree-1.jpgwill be in their world-building element in this two-hour workshop.

Budding authors will learn how to create bewitched lands and magical worlds readers will want to turn and return to in this adventure-filled foray into world building. Drawing inspiration from Blyton’s timeless classics, participants will tap into their imagination to create their very own land ‘at the top of the tree’ and write themselves into their very own story line.
(NB. It’s not necessary to have read Blyton’s work to enjoy or participate in this workshop)

Date:  Thursday, 11 April, 2019
Time:  2:00pm – 4:00pm
Venue:  Antipodes Bookshop & Gallery, 138 Ocean Beach Rd, Sorrento
Cost:  $30   (Limited to ten participants – Suitable for ages 8 – 12 years).

Pet Rock Adoption Character Workshop

There’s nothing more boring than a stone, right? Wrong!

In this two-hour workshop young writers will learn how the various This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is StoryCraft_Pet-Rocks-1024x979.jpgelements of character work together to bring even the dullest objects to life. They’ll get the opportunity to design and make their very own pet rock to take home, complete with an adoption certificate detailing their rock’s name, place of birth, and back story. They’ll then use this information to turn their new friend into the star of its very own story, exploring ways to transform their pet rock into a character that’s relatable and memorable.  This workshop is a whole lot of StoryCrafting fun!

Date:  Friday, 12 April, 2019
Time:  2:00pm – 4:00pm
Venue:  Antipodes Bookshop & Gallery, 138 Ocean Beach Rd, Sorrento
Cost:  $40   (Limited to 10 participants – Suitable for ages 8 – 12 years. Includes take home Pet Rock in bag, and Adoption Certificate)


For all bookings, please use the form on our Contact Page,
or email info@storycraftworkshops.com.au