Upcoming Workshop Times & Events

G.A.T.E.WAYS Journeys – CLI FI AND ECO FICTION WORKSHOPS

G.A.T.E.WAYS is an independent organisation offering challenging and enriching activities and experiences to develop and extend highly able children.  Please note, the following  Journeys are being presented exclusively for the G.A.T.E.WAYS program. Each Journey will run over four sessions at two different locations.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is horizontal-simpled8df2664db9a6d2b9fadff0000a141dd.png

Our world at Tipping Point:   Welcome to the year 2219. What does it look like for you? Have the ice caps melted? Has the sea level risen? Has deforestation played havoc with our natural resources and food supplies? How do these conditions shape your daily life? Is your community impacted by drought, or blizzards, or other unpredictable weather patterns unique to your region? How do you struggle to survive in, and adapt to, your new reality? 

In this Journey, we’ll take a glimpse into the future, and explore how the concepts of global warming and environmental issues shape and influence characters, plot, and setting in both speculative and realist fiction. The popularity of Eco-Fiction, Cli Fi and Solar Punk are on the rise, so let’s take a leap 200 years ahead to discover how – by using climate change and ecological challenges as a springboard – we can create our own compelling pieces of fiction writing journal entries as narrative for the 2219 you’ve created. When combined with the art of world building, the only limit to this powerful literary technique is your imagination

Date:  22 July, 29 July, 5 August, 12th August
Time:  9:30am – Midday
Venue:  Boronia West Primary School, Boronia
Cost & Booking: Please direct all enquiries to info@gateways.edu.au

Date:  23 July, 30 July, 6 August, 13th August
Time:  9:30am – Midday
Venue:  St Joseph’s Primary School, Black Rock
Cost & Booking: Please direct all enquiries to info@gateways.edu.au

Winter School Holiday Creative Writing Workshops 

‘Enchanted Lands’ Creative Writing Workshop – Rosebud Library
Fans of Enid Blyton’s ‘The Enchanted Wood’ and ‘The Magic Faraway Tree’ This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Magic-Faraway-Tree-1.jpgwill be in their world-building element in this two-hour workshop.

Budding authors will learn how to create bewitched lands and magical worlds readers will want to turn and return to in this adventure-filled foray into world building. Drawing inspiration from Blyton’s timeless classics, participants will tap into their imagination to create their very own land ‘at the top of the tree’ and write themselves into their very own story line.
(NB. It’s not necessary to have read Blyton’s work to enjoy or participate in this workshop)

Date:  Monday, 8th July, 2019
Time: 10:00am – 12:00pm
Venue:  Rosebud Library, Rosebud.
Cost:  Free via Mornington Shire Libraries   (Limited to ten participants – Suitable for ages 8 – 12 years).
Bookings:  Open soon 


‘Planetary Postcards’ Creative Writing Workshop – Antipodes Bookshop & Gallery, Sorrento
Blast out of our solar system and create a whole new planet. What will it look like? Who lives there? What is it called? Does it have an atmosphere like Earth? What about the wildlife? And the aliens?This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 40171580-seamless-children-cartoon-space-pattern-with-rockets-planets-stars-and-universe-over-the-dark-night--1024x1024.jpg

This  workshop gives early writers the foundations of world building in a fun, collaborative workshop. We’ll explore different elements to create a whole new planet, then  write a postcard based on your planetary experiences. Who will the postcard be to? Who will it be from? this workshop is perfectly timed to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the moon landing!

Date:  Tuesday, 9th July, 2019
Time: 10:00am – 12:00pm
Venue:  Antipodes Bookshop & Gallery, 138 Ocean Beach Rd, Sorrento
Cost:  $30   (Limited to ten participants – Suitable for ages 8 – 12 years).
Bookings:  Please use the form on the Contact Page, or email info@storycraftworkshops.com.au